The APBPA welcomes the All-American Girls Professional Baseball League Players as Members

By July 17, 2019No Comments

The APBPA wants to give a special thank you to Perry Barber, Dr. Kat Williams, and Rick Chapman for their warrior-spirited efforts ensuring the women professional baseball players of the AAGPBL are recognized for their epic, but until the release of the film A League of Her Own, largely forgotten contributions to the sport from 1943-1954.

The Rockford Peaches, the South Bend Blue Sox, the Racine Belles and the Kenosha Comets played a 108-game schedule. The AAGPBL at times included the Fort Wayne Daisies, Minneapolis Millerettes, Kalamazoo Lassies, Muskegon Lassies, Grand Rapids Chicks, Peoria Redwings, Milwaukee Chicks, Chicago Colleens, and the Springfield Sallies.

Toni Stone, Connie Morgan, and Mamie “Peanut” Johnson, the only women to play in the Negro Leagues, have been awarded posthumous APBPA Membership for their Lifetime Achievements.

Welcome aboard!!